A Message To All!

Getting off the cab the driver said “Pathu ponga (Have a pleasant trip)”, but I didn’t offer a smile or give him tips. I just nodded and told him “Google Pay na (Na -Bro)” with my grumpy face. Not that I did intend to be rude. I was just so frustrated and irritated as I had an abominable day!

Still trying to keep my spirits high I found the lighter in my pocket and wanted to go to a nearby tea shop which I happened to notice was literally at the distance of a “galaxy far far away”. After just twitching the lighter and comparing my frustration to the spark of fire from the lighter I asked my way to the platform and reached. That’s when a new announcement appeared on the board which mentioned that my train was arriving at a different platform. Honestly speaking, how hard is it to just drag your luggage across a few platforms and cross a minimum of 350 people? Well it is for me, what did I Do?

Nothing! Opened my bottle of water had a sip, placed my bottle in the bag, and walked my way mumbling to myself with a few arrogant stares just so that the people around me could sense my rage. But no the water bottle I opened wasn’t closed, the water just had to spill not only on me but with this man walking next to me. What does he say? “ Dei Arrivu Ella (Are you mad)” I somehow had this amazing eye contact with him which was showing my rage but being surrounded by a group of people laughing at your wet jean pockets and the man’s shirt, all I could say was a “Sorry Uncle”. Trust me after this was done it was not great overhearing a ten-year-old kid say “Ma andha uncle inoru uncle mela Thani kottiaru “Mom that uncle spilled water on another uncle”). I finally somehow got to my new platform with a fierce stare at that kid.

When you were a kid waiting for the train to arrive would be exciting as it was all of our dreams to go on trains especially for long trips with those bed births. But trust me as you grow up you don’t find anything exciting for your train to arrive unless you find out there’s some pretty girl who is going to board the train with you for which the probability in Tamil movies is high but not in real life. Never mind the 23-year-old boy still looks into the seat listing to see if he had the probability of Tamil cinema, and fortunately he spotted a name. Just when spirits get low, hope comes around the corner which makes me fresh and pleasant. Suddenly the train appears to be new and blue just like you was a pick-up line I had in mind, but I just told myself shut the fuck up!

Immediately rushing to the coach number trying to find my birth with the help of one eye my other eye has a check on where the pretty girl was.  As sharp as the eagles eyes I spotted the girl meaning I assumed it to be her and confirmed it. While walking to our seats with our luggage we both smiled at each other.  She had kept her luggage under her seat and was going out, I thought she wanted to get a bottle of water or something so I thought I’ll go as well, but me being lost in thoughts made me lose signs of her. I was waiting near the entrance for around 5-10 minutes.  I found her bringing an old lady with her, in excitement  I spontaneously offered help and  I asked “is she coming with us”, and her reply was “no no she’ll be coming with you!”. That was when I remembered I saw the name “Sandhya Krishnan” on the list but not the age. Heard of KARMA? As I did offer help to the pretty lady we helped her grandmother to her seat. The pretty lady turned back to me, smiled, and said bye. I also said bye with a smirk!

After 45 minutes of the train’s departure everyone had gone to sleep and I was on the upper berth and thinking about the disastrous day I took out my phone to listen to songs and noticed I had only 14%. Panicking with anxiety I searched my bag for the cable which I found but not the power bank and later realized I left at the hostel room.  15 minutes later a small boy who would be 4-5 years old, was playing near the foldable table in the lower birth making some noise. I got up and put my head out to tell him to keep quiet, but I don’t know what the boy’s smile was just filled with so much positive vibes and he continued to bang on the foldable table which made me realize there was a switchboard near my head. With all joy and a smile on my face I plugged my charger and just felt recharged like my phone.

I just don’t know why this happened a few minutes ago here I was thinking about the bad day, and all of a sudden I felt relaxed. It’s just funny how mood swings can bring the change in a person.

Sometimes happiness doesn’t have to be only from huge events or people who are special to us. It can occur from the smallest of events or from simply nothing.

*Sole intention of the passage was for a scene write up. Content cannot be used without the permission of the author “Gs Anirudh (18-04-96)”.